Cardinals’ Molina captures seventh Gold Glove

New York, NY (Sports Network) – St. Louis Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina was
awarded a seventh straight Gold Glove on Tuesday when MLB announced the top
fielders at each position.

Molina has been a virtual lock to take home the NL’s top catching honor for
the better part of a decade. Only Ivan Rodriguez (13) and Johnny Bench (10)
have won more Gold Gloves as a backstop.

Dodgers first baseman Adrian Gonzalez collected his fourth Gold Glove and
first since 2011, while slick-fielding Braves shortstop Andrelton Simmons
captured his second straight.

The Rockies had two honored in second baseman DJ LeMahieu and third baseman
Nolan Arenado, who also won last season.

The Senior Circuit’s top outfielders consisted of Marlins left fielder
Christian Yelich, Mets center fielder Juan Lagares and Braves right fielder
Jason Heyward. Yelich and Lagares were first-time winners, while Heyward
walked away with one in 2012.

Dodgers pitcher Zack Greinke rounded out the NL squad as he edged teammate
Clayton Kershaw and reigning champ Adam Wainwright of the Cardinals.

The Royals and Orioles each had three representatives on the AL side for the
second straight year. Catcher Salvador Perez, first baseman Eric Hosmer and
left fielder Alex Gordon all won at their respective positions for the AL
champs. Gordon seized the honor for a fourth straight season.

Orioles shortstop J.J. Hardy has taken one home three years running, while his
teammates, Adam Jones and Nick Markakis, won in center and right field,
respectively. Jones landed his fourth Gold Glove while Markakis picked up his

Red Sox second baseman Dustin Pedroia was selected for the fourth time in
seven years, while Mariners third baseman Kyle Seager and Astros pitcher
Dallas Keuchel were the only first-time winners on the AL side.