Mr. Z heads Delta Downs Jackpot pre-entries

Vinton, LA ( – Mr. Z, second in Keeneland’s Breeders’
Futurity, heads a list of 13 2-year-olds pre-entered Tuesday for the $1
million Delta Downs Jackpot which will be held for the 12th time on Saturday,
Nov. 22.

Trained by Hall of Fame member D. Wayne Lukas, Mr. Z finished fifth in the
Breeders’ Cup Juvenile at Santa Anita on Nov. 1. Owned by Zayat Stables, Mr. Z
was ridden by Hall of Fame jockey Mike Smith in the 1 1/16-mile Juvenile, but
faded to fifth after racing third most of the way in the 11-horse field.

The colt finished second as a 17-1 longshot in the Breeders’ Futurity behind
2-1 favorite Carpe Diem who would finish second to Texas Red in the Juvenile
as the 9-5 favorite.

“The winner (Carpe Diem) made his winning move on the backside. He was out
there all alone and wasn’t coming back to anyone. I had a good trip, but we
weren’t going to catch the winner,” said Mr. Z’s jockey Jon Court.

Mr. Z has earned $259,726 with one win and three seconds from six starts.

Final entries and post positions will be drawn for this year’s Delta Downs
Jackpot on Tuesday, Nov. 18. First preference for the race will be given to
Golden Actor, who won the Jean Lafitte Stakes at Delta Downs on Oct. 25. After
that, preference will be given to those horses that have finished first,
second or third in a grade I or grade II race, then preference goes to those
horses that have finished in the money in any graded stakes. The final
determinant to get into the field will be lifetime earnings at the time of
pre-entries closing. The Delta Downs Jackpot field is limited to a maximum of
10 starters.

For the third consecutive year, the Delta Downs Jackpot is part of the ‘Road
to the Kentucky Derby’ series. The top four finishers in this year’s Delta
Downs Jackpot will be awarded points on a 10-4-2-1 scale toward a possible
starting position in the Run for the Roses, first leg of the 2015 Triple
Crown, on Saturday, May 2.

Here are the 13 2-year-olds pre-entered for the Delta Downs Jackpot: Wake Up
Nick, Leandro Mora, Reddam Racing; Conquest Tsunami, Mark Casse, Conquest
Stables; Mr. Z, D. Wayne Lukas, Zayat Stables; Golden Actor, Ignacio
Roncancio, Thoroughbred Champion Trg. Ctr.; Saratoga Heater, Al Stall Jr.; P.
R. Racing; Ocho Ocho Ocho, James Cassidy, DP Racing; Red Button, Mark Glatt,
Al and Saundra Kirkwood; Dekabrist, Gennadi Dorochenko, Gennadi Dorochenko;
Far Right, Ron Moquett, Harry Rosenblum; Big Big Easy, Steve Asmussen, Scott
and Evan Dilworth; Prime Engine, Jerry Hollendorfer, Mark DeDomenico;
Unblunted, Michael McCarthy, Slam Dunk Racing; Two Six Wins, Michael Pender,
Jim Ciardella, Bob Fetkin, Frank Fazio, Kathy Joslin and Pender Racing.

Two-time Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile winner Goldencents won the 2012 Delta Downs