NCAA says no bowls for 2 Sun Belt teams

( – The NCAA on Tuesday denied waiver claims by two Sun Belt
Conference teams to participate in a bowl game this season.

Sun Belt champion Georgia Southern and Appalachian State will not be eligible
to participate in a bowl game, the NCAA ruled.

Both teams played their first season at the FBS level. Under NCAA rules, teams
are not allowed to compete in postseason play during their two-year transition
periods from a lower level.

Georgia Southern was 9-3 this season, including 8-0 in Sun Belt play, becoming
just the third team ever to win a conference championship in its first year
transitioning to the FBS level.

Appalachian State lost five of its first six games but finished 7-5 with a 6-2
mark in conference play after winning its last six.

Sun Belt Commissioner Karl Benson said in a statement that the conference
“will now move forward to finalize bowl arrangements with Sun Belt member